A Meat Reflection

28 Mar

My head is filled with ideas, images, words, food, and more.  It explodes daily either on the ipad or on my computer.  I am trying to get some of these “things” out of my head and organized somewhere.  For now you know that they are thrown around my brain, like my clothes that are found in every room of the house.  I must say I do promise more charcuterie projects and I will threaten you with chocolates and a bagatelle.  Oh, curling is over…. for now.

Today I am sharing this with you.  I wrote this a few months back for a magazine.  Sadly, it did not get picked up, but I loved writing it.  Enjoy

Beef Tartare: A Gateway Food Drug

I come from a meat loving family where all types of proteins are consumed, cooked, and devoured.  Growing up my family would nosh on pork, veal, fish, lamb, and beef; never chicken, my father hates chicken.  Now my parent’s rules differed for raising my sister and I.  Mom was the boss in the family and did most of the cooking.  My father on the other hand permitted anarchy and interesting eating habits.  Two patriarchal culinary delights stand out in my mind, pasta with sour cream and raw ground beef.   You guess which one still infuriates my mother.

At the ripe age of six my father began feeding my sister and I raw ground beef.  Dear old dad was allowing us to eat ground sirloin and he had no concerns that it could make us sick; but it never did.  Oddly enough my father is a family physician and a former health inspector.

Anytime it was hamburger, chili, Swedish meatball or taco night I would wait anxiously to receive my well-seasoned portion of raw meat.  Dad would always season it with salt and pepper perfectly.  I would gobble it down and try to get some more.  I had no idea until I was in high school that this was not normal for kids to eat raw meat.  I also learned that raw beef had a fancy name: tartare.

In Middle school my raw beef eating habit made it easy for my father to introduce me to raw tuna and other sushi items.  In this respect raw beef was my gateway drug to various other raw meats.  To this I salute my father for taking a risk and knowing that his little girl would love tartare of various animals throughout her life.  Thanks dad!

Leave a Reply

