Storming in the Kitchen

9 Oct

My first picture onlineSo the past week there has been a flurry of activity in my kitchen.  I first need to state that my stove   S-U-C-K-S.  I miss my gas range and my fancy kitchen-aid oven.  If I had my old oven this week it would have been so much better, since I had a proofing function.

Anyways…. I have been tasked to test out some breads.  Multigrain and rye.  It has been so much fun to get back into the swing of things and work with breads, develop gluten, feel the heat, and work with dough again.  Plus, it is always nice to see the dough battle my 5-quart kitchen aid mixer; I have a few in the ranks, but the only one I use for bread is currently in my kitchen.  You hear the bread thumping on the sides of the bowl, thump, thump, thump, to a specific rhythm; then you hear a pause and the motor burps out a sound, but he battles on with the rye dough; the bagel is a different story a different nemesis. A battle story for another time.

I have employed the use of the trust pizza stone, by far one of the most valuable items for any baker or breads, but don’t forget about you pie makers and pizza lovers.  The stone is essential to this type of baking because it holds heat and evenly distributes it, making it just like a fancy deck oven or pizza oven.  The stone also absorbs the moisture from the dough which helps create a crisp crust.  I would like a rectangle one, but the circle one I got does well.

I am still getting my head around the writing.  I’ll post my first pic, it is of the multigrain, no soaker, 3 flours, 7 types of grains, no teeth hurt, and a whole lot of fun.

 

Leave a Reply

